A Quick Note On Our Blogroll

by

Every business linked to on our blogroll is a business that is publicly against American Apparel opening on 988 Valencia. Each has been asked if they’re OK with being listed on the blogroll and they have said yes.

6 Responses to “A Quick Note On Our Blogroll”

  1. adshats Says:

    How does one get added to the list? Elina/Alternative Design Studio-ADS Hats 418 Valencia St.

  2. Derek Says:

    Please add us to the blogroll!!
    The Curiosity Shoppe
    curiosityshoppeonline.com

    thanks!
    -Derek & Lauren

  3. kelly malone Says:

    please add the indie mart to this if you would like. myself and all of the many designers involved want to fight this and support AA not being on valencia….thanks.

    -kelly malone

  4. Broke-Ass Stuart Says:

    Hey. Broke-Ass Stuart here. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help. I heard that there’s gonna be a benefit concert at Amnesia. Maybe I can help with that somehow. Please email me and let me know. Thanks!

    Stuart
    info@brokeassstuart.com
    http://www.brokeassstuart.com

  5. Boris Says:

    I thought this could work to spread the word to annoying hipster kids.

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=46980334163

  6. heidijaneonvalencia Says:

    Hi Everyone,

    I’m new to the blogging world, so perhaps someone can tell me how to post this in the appropriate place. Anyway, I’m in….I wrote this letter and sent it to the list of supervisors and planning people you mentioned and thought I’d share it here with the hope that it might generate ideas for others. Hope it helps! Thanks for all your good work.

    All the best, Heidi-Jane (OK, letter below)

    ___________________________

    January 25, 2009

    Dear Planner LaValley,

    My name is Heidi-Jane Schwabe.

    I could not be more proud of or grateful for my community.
    The Mission is a unique neighborhood which epitomizes
    everything that’s still special about San Francisco. From
    funky furniture to fine art, hand-stitched clothing to
    home-made crepes and homespun music, tamales to taxidermy
    and voodoo to vintage, our neighborhood would not be the
    same without the collection of hard-working small business
    owners who have mortgaged their futures to create such a
    vibrant place for all of us to share.

    And this is why I’m writing to register my opposition to
    the proposed American Apparel store on Valencia Street. It
    would be heart-breaking to see a million-dollar
    conglomeration squeeze out these local businesses and turn
    Valencia Street into just another chain store strip.

    In these troubled economic times, it is now more important
    than ever to see that our hard-earned dollars are put back
    into San Francisco, rather than spent on a corporation
    whose home base is elsewhere.

    Please protect our local business owners by opposing the
    location of American Apparel to Valencia Street. San
    Francisco has long been hailed for its uniqueness….and I
    think that’s worth fighting for. Please say NO to American
    Apparel.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

